All About Nakshatras

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp


Nakshatra –  Get to know more about your Nakshatra!

Our zodiac consists of 12 signs or rashis, in Hindi language, and there are 27 constellations, or Nakshatras, within these 12 signs. Names of these 27 constellations are Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigshira, Aardra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishakha, Anuradha, Jyeshtha, Moola, Purva Ashadha, Uttara Ashadha, Shravana, Dhanishtha, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapad, Uttara Bhadrapad and Revati. All the 9 planets rules over these Nakshatras by rotation in a sequence like Ketu rules Ashwini Nakshatra.

 The other two constellations ruled by the spiritual planet Ketu are Magha and Moola. Bharani Nakshatra comes under the jurisdiction of planet Venus alongwith Purva Phalguni and Purva Ashadha. Ruler of Krittika Nakshatra is, the king of the planets, the Sun. Uttara Phalguni and Uttara Ashadha is the other two constellations governed by the Sun. Rohini Nakshatra is ruled by the queen of planets, the Moon, alongwith Hasta and Shravana. The energetic planet Mars is having the lordship of Mrigshira, Chitra and Dhanishtha Nakshatras. Shadowy planet Rahu rules Aardra, Swati and Shatabhisha Nakshatras.

The most auspicious planet of our zodiac, Jupiter is the ruler of Punarvasu, Vishakha and Purva Bhadrapad Nakshatras. The slowest moving planet Saturn governs Pushya, Anuradha and Uttara Bhadrapad Nakshatras. Prince planet of our zodiac, Mercury has Ashlesha, Jyeshtha and Revati Nakshatras to rule over. A zodiac sign spans for 30 degrees and there comes two complete Nakshatras and part of a third one in a Rashi. A constellation consists of 13 degrees and 20 minutes and it is equally divided into four parts of 3 degrees and 20 minutes each, called ‘Paad’ in Astrological terms. It has a very important role in the horoscope of a person, as it is the deciding factor of the first alphabet of the native’s name.

Not only this, a person is born with a Nakshatra that determines the Main Period, i.e., Vimsottari Dasha sequence of that person as the first dasha will be of the ruler of the Nakshatra only. For example, if a child is born in Aries Moon sign and Ashwini Nakshatra, he will go through the Main period of Ketu in the beginning of his life followed by Venus, the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn and Mercury.   

Nakshatra is a very important perimeter in our Indian System of Vedic Astrology. There are certain Nakshatras, which determine the condition of health of a child during the earlier days of his or her life. It is called ‘GandMool’ Nakshatras in Astrological terms. Revati and Ashwini, Ashlesha and Magha, Jyeshtha and Moola are the Nakshatras, which falls into this category. Other than this, there is ‘Panchak’ Nakshatras, which are consisting of the last five Nakshatras beginning with Dhanishtha. Dhanishtha, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapad, Uttara Bhadrapad and Revati are the five constellations come under ‘Panchak’. Generally, Astrologers advice to avoid auspicious events during these five Nakshatras as it is not considered to be an auspicious time for performing pious deeds.

More Astrology Articles